Skip to content

13 awesomely sappy love songs

August 6, 2009

You know the scene in the movie. He’s standing outside, probably in the rain, and she runs out to meet him. They embrace and kiss, and all of the troubles they have endured for the last hour and a half disappear. Yeah, well these 13 songs were probably playing in the background of those scenes. And you know what? You love them. Don’t fight it.

I don’t want to miss a thing – Aerosmith: This might have been the biggest love song from like 1997-2001. It was a much-needed welcome back tune for the rock band, which had bombed with its single “Pink” earlier in the decade. This is an epic ballad that I guarantee the five people closest to you right now can sing the chorus to.
Awesomely sappy line: “I just want to hold you close, feel your heart so close to mine, and stay here in this moment for all the rest of time.”

We’ve got tonight – Bob Seger: When you go back and really listen to the words of this song, you realize it’s about a guy trying to coax a girl into staying with him, but it’s buried inside such a pretty tune that, well, let’s just say she probably stayed.
Awesomely sappy line: Turn off the light, come take my hand now. We’ve got tonight, babe, why don’t you stay?

Don’t know much – Linda Ronstadt & Aaron Neville: A staple of the Delilah radio show, this lovely duet lays the sap on thick. All these two know is how in love they are. Would you expect anything else from Neville, the king of croon?
Awesomely sappy line: And when I feel you near me, sometimes I see so clearly. The only truth I’ve ever known is me and you.

I just called to say I love you – Stevie Wonder: Ever have that roommate that baby-talks with his girlfriend on the phone all day, and you can’t get the “You are so beautiful” ringtone out of your head after you hear it 30 times a day? Yeah, that’s what Stevie’s doing here.
Awesomely sappy line: But what it is, though old, so new, to fill your heart like three words could never do.

You are so beautiful – Joe Cocker: Speaking of that song, raise your hand if you’ve heard it at a karaoke bar with the guy on one knee just BELTING it out to his teary-eyed girl. I see a few of you, thought so. Now raise your hand if you’ve ever been that guy. If you are raising your hand, please leave.
Awesomely sappy line: A guiding light that shines in the night, heaven’s gift to me, you are so beautiful to me.

Bless the broken road – Rascal Flatts: I could have done this list using just country songs, but this one takes the cake for me. Two people, rough pasts, and they come together on this wild trip called love. It screams “Play me at your wedding!”
Awesomely sappy line: Others who broke my heart, they were like northern stars pointing me on my way into your loving arms.

When you love a woman – Journey: This was Steve Perry’s last hit with Journey, and boy, did he make the most of it. This song was written like a love song text book. Soft piano intro? Check. Sweeping strings? Check. Epic, screaming guitar solo? Check. Big-time adult top 40 hit? Check.
Awesomely sappy line: When you see her walkin by, and you look into her eyes. When you love a woman, you see your world inside her eyes

All my life – K-Ci & JoJo: Ah, the biggest R&B love song of the ’90s. Yeah, I said it. It was the theme of high school proms across the country and the benefit of first dances around the world and track 1 of countless mixtapes given to girlfriends for Valentine’s Day. You could see any number of tough guys walking down the street looking cool, and there was about a 34-percent chance they were listening to this song.
Awesomely sappy line: I praise the Lord above for sending me your love. I cherish every hug, I really love you.

Take my breath away – Berlin: Now I almost didn’t add this song because in reality, it’s not very good. But then I thought to myself, if it’s not good, why do I sing it every time it comes on the radio? Touché, self. The only problem is I can’t hear it without thinking of that really gross kiss in the Top Gun scene.
Awesomely sappy line: Through the hourglass I saw you, in time you slipped away.

My heart will go on – Celine Dion: When I first heard this tune, probably on VH1, I couldn’t believe something so beautiful was coming from such a crappy movie. However you may feel about Celine Dion, you cannot dispute the phenomenon that this song was, and you also can’t sit here and honestly say you haven’t screamed it in the car by yourself.
Awesomely sappy line: Love can touch us one time and last for a lifetime and never let go till we’re gone.

You’re the inspiration – Chicago: This song is funny because it doesn’t really fit Chicago’s style. It’s more like they really wanted a hit that would speak to most casual music listeners, so they spouted out this love song that they knew would do it. Come to think of it, Journey may have stolen Chicago’s formula.
Awesomely sappy line: No one needs you more than I need you, you’re the meaning in my life.

I will always love you – Whitney Houston: One of the greatest songs ever, period. I will most likely get made fun of for that, but it’s pretty much the perfect song. One of the best voices of all time, the most famous key change ever, and it just moves you emotionally. I don’t care what you say to that, either, listen to it right now and don’t get chills. It’s not possible. So ends defending myself before I need defending.
Awesomely sappy line: And I wish you joy and happiness, but above all this, I wish you love.

Always and forever – Luther Vandross: I submit that this is THE love song. It may not have the pure musical quality that Whitney’s does, but it is Luther at his best, and when he was at his best, nobody was touching him. You feel like he’s actually sitting and looking at the person he’s singing to, and that’s something you can’t add to a song in post-production.
Awesomely sappy line: There will always be sunshine when I look at you. It’s something I can’t explain, just the things that you do.

Until next time folks! Any suggestions for lists you might like to see would be appreciated, as well as songs I forgot or got wrong on this list (warning: I’m always right)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 3:16 pm

    I was hoping Savage Garden would make the cut.

  2. August 6, 2009 10:58 pm

    perfect list buddy!

  3. Uncle permalink
    September 2, 2009 7:45 pm

    Horrible list … try Chicago songs, Leo Sayer, The Jets … typical horrible list.

  4. December 1, 2009 11:30 pm

    GOOD LIST, YEA I WAS WISHING SAVAGE GARDEN MAKE IT BUT GOOD LIST.

  5. Vishwajeet permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:55 pm

    It’s a good list ..I almost have most of these. Go for those boyband songs ..they’re sappy but I just completely love them .. so how about some songs by C21, A1 ..? :=)

  6. John permalink
    September 25, 2010 9:36 pm

    What, no Bobby Goldsboro and “Honey, I Miss You”???

  7. Donna R-L permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:29 pm

    Don’t forget that DOLLY wrote and originated “I will always love you,” Tyler, even though her version was way before your time.

    Good blog! I enjoyed the surfing I just did here. You’re a good writer, but I’d expect no less from the son of your mother. She’s an overachiever in all that she does and creates. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

